Email Contact Phone Company Visit Website

Morningstar UK (European HQ) Office

Oliver’s Yard, 55-71 City Road




Ryan W Clark
[email protected]
Back to all Morningstar announcements

Morningstar Announces Nominees for 2014 U.S. Fund Manager of the Year Awards

Morningstar, Inc. (NASDAQ: MORN), a leading provider of independent investment research, today announced the nominees for its 2014 U.S. Fund Manager of the Year awards. The awards acknowledge managers who not only delivered impressive performance in 2014, but who have also shown excellent long-term risk-adjusted returns, and have been good stewards of fund shareholders’ capital. To recognize outstanding fund managers each year, Morningstar selects leaders in five categories: domestic stock, international stock, fixed income, alternatives, and allocation.

The nominees for the 2014 Fund Manager of the Year awards in the United States are:

Domestic-Stock Fund Manager of the Year:
• Phillip N. Davidson, Kevin Toney, Brian Woglom, and Michael Liss, American Century Mid Cap Value (ACMVX), American Century Value (TWVLX), and American Century Equity Income (TWEIX)
• Juliet Ellis, Juan Hartsfield, and Clay Manley, Invesco Small Cap Growth (GTSAX)
• Todd Ahlsten and Ben Allen, Parnassus Core Equity (PRBLX)
• Theo Kolokotrones, Joel Fried, Al Mordecai, Mohsin Ansari, and James Marchetti, Primecap Odyssey Aggressive Growth (POAGX), Primecap Odyssey Growth (POGRX), Primecap Odyssey Stock (POSKX), Vanguard Capital Opportunity (VHCOX), Vanguard Primecap Core (VPCCX), and Vanguard Primecap (VPMCX)
• Brian Berghuis, T. Rowe Price Mid-Cap Growth (RPMGX)

International-Stock Fund Manager of the Year:
• David Samra and Daniel O’Keefe, Artisan International Value (ARTKX) and Artisan Global Value (ARTGX)
• Charles Pohl, Diana Strandberg, and team, Dodge and Cox International Stock (DODFX) 
• Justin Thomson and team, T. Rowe Price International Discovery (PRIDX)

Fixed-Income Fund Manager of the Year:
• Franco Castagliuolo and Bill Irving, Fidelity GNMA (FGMNX) and Fidelity Government Income (FGOVX)
• Steve Smith, David Hoffman, and John McIntyre, Legg Mason Brandywine Global Opportunities Bond (GOBIX)
• Michael Garrett, Vanguard GNMA, Admiral Shares (VFIJX)
• Ken Leech, Carl Eichstaedt, and Mark Lindbloom, Western Asset Core Bond (WACSX) and Western Asset Core Plus Bond (WAPSX)

Alternatives Fund Manager of the Year:
• Joel Greenblatt and Robert Goldstein, Gotham Absolute Return (GARIX)
• Robert T. Jones, and team, Robeco Boston Partners Long/Short Equity (BPLSX and BPLEX)
• James Troyer, Michael Roach, and James Stetler, Vanguard Market Neutral (VMNFX and VMNIX)

Allocation Fund Manager of the Year:
• Anne Lester and team, JPMorgan SmartRetirement target-date series (JSIIX, JSFIX, JTTIX, JNSIX, JSMIX, SRJIX, SMTIX, JSAIX, JTSIX, and JFFIX)
• David Giroux, T. Rowe Price Capital Appreciation (PRWCX)
• Edward P. Bousa and John C. Keogh, Vanguard Wellington (VWELX)

Jon Hale, Morningstar’s director of manager research, North America, said, “Investors experienced more volatile equity markets and a decline in bond yields in 2014, yet our nominees for the Fund Manager of the Year awards achieved excellent performance and aptly maneuvered through the year’s surprises.”

Morningstar will announce its 2014 U.S. Fund Manager of the Year award winners on Jan. 21 live on CNBC’s “Power Lunch” program. Morningstar will highlight the nominees for the other four categories on during the next two weeks.

Established in 1988, the Morningstar Fund Manager of the Year award recognizes portfolio managers who demonstrate excellent investment skill and the courage to differ from the consensus to benefit investors. To qualify for the award, managers’ funds must have not only posted impressive returns for the year, but the managers also must have a record of delivering outstanding long-term risk-adjusted performance and of aligning their interests with shareholders’. Nominated funds must be Morningstar Medalists—a fund that has garnered a Morningstar Analyst Rating™ of Gold, Silver, or Bronze. The Fund Manager of the Year award winners are chosen based on Morningstar’s proprietary research and in-depth qualitative evaluation by its fund analysts.